Texas crop, weather report for March 10, 2015

March 10, 2015 0
By: Robert Burns Expert: Continued wet weather will affect sorghum and cotton planting acreages Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — By delaying corn planting, wet weather could mean more grain sorghum and cotton […]

Strawberry fields forever — A Texas possibility

March 9, 2015 0
By: Kathleen Phillips Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, ka-phillips@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Russ Wallace, 806-746-4052, rwwallace@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Masabni, 979-324-1244, jmasabni@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Juan Anciso, 956-968-5581, j-anciso@tamu.eduCOLLEGE STATION — Having fresh, local strawberries within reach across Texas is […]

No rot is good rot

February 26, 2015 0
By Jessica Crabtree, editor@ntfronline.com With vast numbers of yearling cattle stretching across much of Texas’ wheat pastures, it is no wonder that due to winter weather conditions, health problems arise. Affecting all ages of cattle, […]

February 26, 2015 0
By: Kay Ledbetter Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jourdan Bell, 806-677-5600, Jourdan.Bell@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Ted McCollum, 806-677-5600, ft-mccollum@tamu.edu AMARILLO – Ongoing Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service sorghum silage trials have revealed forage type and […]

Talking Dirty to improve soil health

February 26, 2015 0
Contact: Iginia Boccolandro Carbon Economy Series (469) 554-9202 iginia@carboneconomyseries.com LANCASTER, WAXAHACHIE—If you consider yourself a gardener, farmer, rancher or landscape architect, think again. “Instead, you are a soil manager,” says Dr. Elaine Ingham, who will […]

Texas crop, weather for Feb. 4, 2015

February 24, 2015 0
Writer: Robert Burns, 903-834-6191, rd-burns@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – There have been considerably more reports of both leaf and stripe rust on wheat than is normal for this time of year, according to a Texas A&M […]

Spring calving is in full swing

February 24, 2015 0
By Rayford Pullen Spring calving is in full swing here at Pullen Angus. Our goal is to have all our calves on the ground before April 1. While we don’t normally accomplish that feat, we […]
1 44 45 46 47 48 54